…and I hope to make the best of it!  On New Year’s Eve I made a list of all of the things I accomplished during 2008, and I was surprised to find out that there were 23 items on my list, some pretty big and others, not so earthshaking but notable nonetheless.  There was a gap between January and April where I guess I was just in a holding pattern, April being the month I started at my weight loss clinic (and lost 40 lbs to date).  I like to say that weight loss often serves as a springboard towards all sorts of other things, and I still stand by that statement.  Losing weight showed me that other things were possible as well, and I want to continue that trend in 2009.   My list finished up with December 2008, and starting this blog!

I also made a list of resolutions, with six main goals and…um…15 other “smaller” goals and intentions, too.  I know what you’re thinking–TWENTY ONE resolutions is a bit much, Heather, come on.  But I wanted to record all of them, no matter how small, just to get them recorded somewhere.  They always say you have a better chance of achieving your goals if you articulate them to someone else–in this case, myself–so…that’s what I did.  We’ll see what I can get done by this time next year.

I’m pretty much laughing at myself, though, because achieving pregnancy wasn’t directly stated on my list.  The first goal I wrote, though, was to lose another twenty to twenty-five pounds OR to achieve pregnancy, since I know I most likely won’t get to achieve both this year.  Losing more weight after pregnancy, sure, but that’s a hell of a long journey between here and there, something I can’t quite wrap my brain around just yet.  Here’s hoping, though.  Happy New Year, everyone!