Maybe it’s just my perception, but there seems to be a lot of tragedy lately involving babies dying…

I’m sad. I just read about a 26 year old man in my town who was driving a 26 year old woman, nine months pregnant, to the hospital at 2:30 am because she was suffering from abdominal pains.  Only a block from the hospital the car went off the road, plowed through a small tree, and hit a sign belonging to the Olympic Training Center. The woman was pronounced dead at the scene, and they took the two to the hospital and delivered the baby, who did not make it. Perhaps the saddest part is what the man will have to carry with him for the rest of his life, that the mom and baby were lost and he survived with only minor injuries. I’m really mystified because the article said that neither alcohol nor speed were involved, it was the middle of the night, and this area is only blocks from my house. It’s not a terribly busy road even though it’s right next to the hospital, and considering there weren’t any other cars involved, I can’t help but wonder what caused the crash. Only twenty six years old. Full term baby. Both gone. It’s just unbelievably sad. My heart goes out to the man who was driving and their families and friends.

Just goes to show, life can change in an instant. We need to make the most of it while we can.